NCR Silver Support and Customer Care | NCR Silver NCR Silver
Questions?
Contact us at one of our country-specific support lines.
US: 877-270-3475
 UK: 0808-178-5520
AU: 1800-940-975
NZ: 0800-453-736
or
Log in to Silver Back Office to chat with a representative

Visit NCR.com/Silver


“To know I can check and see how the store is doing even without being there is very helpful.”
Reveille Joe Coffee, Coffee Shop


Search:

Browse by categories

Putting a Sale On Hold

Putting a sale on hold allows you to continue completing transactions while you wait for something or someone to complete a transaction.  
 
Scenario: A customer may have begun the checkout process, but realizes they want to buy something else in addition to what they brought to the counter.  You can put the transaction on hold, saving your work on the transaction, and continue checking out other customers while the original customer selects their additional items.  This scenario also works for customers in a bar/restaurant setting who may be running a "tab".

 
  1. To put the current sale on hold do one of the following:

    • iPad Users: Tap Hold at the Bottom of the Ticket screen

    • iPhone/iPod Touch Users: Tap User-added imageon the ticket screen, then tap Hold.

  2. Tap yes to confirm you want to put the current sale on hold.

  3. If you have the table/tag assignment feature turned on, select the table/tag. 

    Note: If the sale includes any payments, they will be deleted (and the corresponding credit card authorizations reversed) if you place the sale on hold. Placing an item on hold will automatically print the "chit" to the kitchen printer if set up.
     

  4. Tap the Print receipt button to print a receipt for the hold or tap the No receipt button.  The system returns you to the Point of Sale screen.

A hold receipt is identical to a regular sales receipt, except that your store name and address are replaced by the word HOLD at the top of the receipt
 
Note: Any held tickets will be lost if you ever are instructed to delete the POS app.
Customer Support Article

How to Put a Sale On Hold

  • January 9, 2017
  • ·
  • Like
  • 2

Summary

How to put a sale on hold while you wring up more customers on your Silver POS

Title

How to Put a Sale On Hold

URL Name

Putting-A-Sale-On-Hold

Summary

How to put a sale on hold while you wring up more customers on your Silver POS

Article Record Type

0120W000001QFNF

Publication Status

Online

Validation Status

Not Validated

Last Modified By

005d0000001B04A

Description

Putting a Sale On Hold

Putting a sale on hold allows you to continue completing transactions while you wait for something or someone to complete a transaction.  
 
Scenario: A customer may have begun the checkout process, but realizes they want to buy something else in addition to what they brought to the counter.  You can put the transaction on hold, saving your work on the transaction, and continue checking out other customers while the original customer selects their additional items.  This scenario also works for customers in a bar/restaurant setting who may be running a "tab".

 
  1. To put the current sale on hold do one of the following:

    • iPad Users: Tap Hold at the Bottom of the Ticket screen

    • iPhone/iPod Touch Users: Tap User-added imageon the ticket screen, then tap Hold.

  2. Tap yes to confirm you want to put the current sale on hold.

  3. If you have the table/tag assignment feature turned on, select the table/tag. 

    Note: If the sale includes any payments, they will be deleted (and the corresponding credit card authorizations reversed) if you place the sale on hold. Placing an item on hold will automatically print the "chit" to the kitchen printer if set up.
     

  4. Tap the Print receipt button to print a receipt for the hold or tap the No receipt button.  The system returns you to the Point of Sale screen.

A hold receipt is identical to a regular sales receipt, except that your store name and address are replaced by the word HOLD at the top of the receipt
 
Note: Any held tickets will be lost if you ever are instructed to delete the POS app.